MORTON is a metal project headed by the sound-producer, singer and multi-instrumentalist, Max Morton. Founded in 2009 in Kyiv, Ukraine, MORTON started out as a studio one-man project and later evolved into a live band. In 2011 they signed deals with the world known music label AFM Records and Japanese label Spinning to release their debut full-length album "Come Read the Words Forbidden" worldwide. During the years of its activity, the band released several music videos and shared the stage with Doro, U.D.O., Mike Terrana, Within Temptation, Coroner, Oomph and others. Now MORTON opens the new page in its history, dedicated to the release of the new full-length album, titled “Horror of Daniel Wagner”. 

The band pays more and more attention to the genre diversity, which results in more creative freedom and sincerity. Horror of Daniel Wagner includes both traditional heavy-metal songs with a nice touch of power and epic metal and more progressive and modern musical pieces. The extreme vocals on two songs were brilliantly performed by Tatiana Shmayluk from Jinjer. On other songs, the role of backing growl vocals and choir parts was delegated to Andrew Ivashchenko from Shokran. 

Right after the release of the second album, MORTON will again dive deep into the creative process. The concept of the new material will again differ from everything that the band did before, although the promise stands strong: no matter how far MORTON goes in its artistic search, they will remain true to music and sincere towards their audience.

Band Members

Max Morton (vocals, guitars, bass, lyrics, composing)

Sergey Sershen (guitars)

Dmitry Gerasimov (drums)

Debut Album "Come Read the Words Forbidden"


"Come Read the Words Forbidden" was composed, performed, recorded, mixed and produced by Max Morton at Morton Studio.

“Black Witch”, “Grimoire”, “Oblivion”, “Werewolf Hunt” lyrics were written by Andrey Karpov.

Drums were played by Dmitry Smotrov.

The debut album of MORTON was released in 4 editions worldwide:


In Ukraine the album was released independently on July 15, 2011. The Ukrainian edition was designed as a digipack with a 16-page booklet. The first edition of “Come Read the Words Forbidden” was fully sold out.


In Japan the album was released by the recording label Spinning on July 20, 2011. The Japanese edition had a unique tracklist and containted two exclusive bonus-tracks: "Brotherhood Of Light (Live)" and "The Machine". Buying an album through the Tower Records network, listeners also received a DVD with the band’s debut music video "Sleeping King" and a CD with another bonus track - acoustic version of "Oblivion". 


The German edition has become a worldwide release. The album came out under the label AFM Records on October 21, 2011. The tracklist is identical to the Ukrainian edition.


The sales of Russian edition began in November 2011 under FONO and AFM Records labels. This edition included a bonus track - an acoustic version of the song "Oblivion".